When schools become killing fields...

ordos45

My worst fear nearly came true.  This morning, my school was put under lockdown along with an elementary school.  By the time the day was over I walked into a parking lot swarming with Police Officers and National Guard Troops.

Apparently the middle school I graduated from only two years ago nearly had a school shooting.  A girl had been fighting with her friends and said she was going to shoot them and left the school during the day,and came back with a gun apparently.  It was only a 6th grader, holding a gun on her friends.  The police took the gun from her, but...all other schools in the area (like mine) were put under lockdown.  and well let's say if u yelled gun in my school at the end of the day it wouldn't have been pretty.

Shortly after Columbine I had my first school shooting nightmare, it was set at that school and today it nearly came true, at the hands of a 6th grader.  No one was hurt or killed, thank God, but still the psychological terror remains within me as well as those middle school students who were faced with a gun.  Never say that it cannot happen in your community, it can.  

This all comes of course, two days after my dad was working at Rite Aid and got caught in a hold up for the pain killer oxycontin, wear a man pulled a gun on the pharmacist and demanded the pills.  And then yesterday was Valentine's day which s*cked for me, and today while I was locked into Journalism I got to hear all about my friend Ashliegh getting high with her boyfriend on Valentine's Day and my friend Amber (Who's had a baby once) telling me about having sex with her boyfriend in the back of his car.  

So yes I am in a bad mood, yes I am cranky, yes I am scared as sh!t about what might happen next.  The Secret Service was enough when Tipper came to give a speech, I won't be able to stand armed troops in fatigues in my hallways, I hope they aren't back Tuesday.

P.S.