Dune 2000 mission map editor released!

Klofkac

Hello all Dune2k fans. I've played Dune 2000 several years ago and I always dreamt of editing mission maps (but I could only edit multiplayer maps with Shai Hulud or Domination). Now I started playing Dune again and found this web page. I found many interesting topics about mission files hacking and some fan-made mission maps. I also found some tools for mis file editing, but there was still NOT editor for mission map files. So I decided to make it (because I was little skilled in programming in Delphi) and now I'm releasing it here.

There is a screenshot:

screenshotr.gif

And here you can download it:

D2kEditor.zip

Note that you MUST copy tileset files into 'graphics' folder. You can download them here. Without them you cannot see the terrain.

Now something about the editor.

Very thanks for this topic, it helped me really lot.

It is a simple program that allows you to open/save maps and place buildings or units into them. I needed to save as much time as possible, so it has only the most important features, for example it doesn't support editing the terrain at all. You must use for example Shai-hulud for editing terrain. But maybe I will continue with programming and I will implement terrain editing and other features (for example resizing and shifting map, counting the energy etc). So if you like this program, I can improve it.

I also released source codes for this program, so that anyone can participate on it or implement a new feature.

Summary:

- Current version: alpha 0.1

- Programmed in: Delphi 7

- Programming time: two days

- Code size: 616 lines

- Should run with any windows

- Functionality: open map, save map, minimap, select tileset, place or remove buildings or units for 7 players, edit spice and spawn points, show grid

- Known bugs: status bar may disappear sometimes, all errors are unhandled

- No warranty!