Disappearing Resource

Hi all,

I recently started playing RRT2 (honest).  I have the platinum v 1.56.  In playing the Britain scenario with one computer opponent I discovered that some iron mines disappeared.  Does anyone know how this could happen?  Or how to prevent it?

Items not used or connected do tend to disappear; it's part of the set-up.  And it's not just industries,

towns without a station gradually lose houses and shrink.  Best advice is to get to resources you wish to use sooner rather than later.  Buying them will secure them, but it costs of course, and they will lose you money until you start tapping them.  ;)

Items not used or connected do tend to disappear; it's part of the set-up.  And it's not just industries,

towns without a station gradually lose houses and shrink.  Best advice is to get to resources you wish to use sooner rather than later.  Buying them will secure them, but it costs of course, and they will lose you money until you start tapping them.  ;)

Thanks for your reply and info.

However ...

These were connected and being serviced.  I  tried several tiimes from a saved  game.  I even purchased one of them.  But  in all cases either one or both eventually disappeard from the map, and the station associated no longer supplied iron.  In one case, a  train had  just gotten a  cargo from the station associated with the mine, but before it had preceded very far, the iron mine was gone.  It was annoying.  There were other iron mines, but these two were by far the most useful.

Its very difficult for a new player to recognize BS when he sees it.

Its well known by long-time players that an industry or resource can disappear (or reappear), regardless of the degree of its usage, unless it is owned by your or an AI's company. Its a random thing based on parameters set in the editor.