magic!!

piterdevries

im new at magic the gathering and i need help in building a deck coz my current deck (Rakdos Bloodsport) sucks...

Is a deck containing only walls for defense and sorceries and instants for killing the opponent a good one? if yes,, what cards do you recommend? thanks!

No. If you've played a lot of Duels of the Planeswalkers (a very old but good computer game for Magic with AI, if you can still find it), you'll see a good number of that kind of decks. It's rather unsustainable, unless you have a really good combination of cards. Usually, wall decks will work well only if you're playing a combo deck. I'm not too familiar with the new cards so I can't make suggestions, but you get the idea. Just some pointers.

Usually, what you want is the ability to kill the enemy while the enemy is unable to kill you. ( Obviously... )

Here's a list I just made. It gives you an idea of different deck types. I don't know how Magic is right now, as I used to play it a lot a few years ago, and the game is constantly in change. I've picked four of the basic deck types here. Usually, people mix a bit between them.

Feel free to arrest me on my statements...  :P

[pre]

* Early Rusher:

Your instants/sorceries/early creatures can kill your enemy very early in the game.

Pros:

- You can win early. The Warlord and The Shield might be your favorite enemies.

Cons:

- If you fail to kill the enemy before his/her defence is up, you're most likely dead.

- You depend on starting with mana in your hand.

* Warlord:

Your creatures are very strong, and in the long run they will kill the enemy.

Pros:

- Matches do have a tendency to last a while, and in that case, this is one of

the "safe" ways to beat your opponent.

Cons:

- You're weak against the early rusher. Your creatures are likely expensive, and

it will take some time to get your force up and running.

- If you fail to get a decent mana pool quite fast, you will struggle to survive.

Tips: