what would YOU change?

neonext

As you probably know, I am in the process of recreating Dune 2. This is my 2nd game written in C++ using DirectX. Keep that in mind - I'm still learning :)

Anyways, I could use some help designing the game.

If you had a chance to make Dune 2 a better game, without turning it into a different game like Dune 2000, what would you change?

In another topic, Select had some good ideas. I'm sure he doesn't mind me copying his list (IMO his post actually belongs in this topic hehe). Here it is along with what i think about the ideas:

1. Lets keep graphics, but make them in 32 bit palette

- Agreed, making the graphics too much different changes the game too much. 16 and 32 bit color is already in, and I will possibly make the graphics look better in other ways.

2. Keep the units but improve their animation and attack effects and sounds.

- I'm not too sure about this one. Perhaps there can be improvements to unit attacks later, but changing movement animations would probably require re-doing all the unit artwork.

3. Add multiplayer modes: serial, lan, internet

- I don't think anyone can argue with that, although it won't be very easy to implement (I don't know DirectPlay yet). I do plan on adding this feature, but it will likely be one of the last things.

4. Drag box to select units

- Already in, and there is no limit to the amount of units you can select.

5. Production cues

- Queues will be great, I definitally want to add them. Each structure which can build units will have its own queue, and I'm considering allowing a queue for the construction yard too (it would make placing down single squares of concrete slabs a lot easier)

6. Add ctrl + #

- In some shape or form I will add this, but I don't think I can combine key presses until I put DirectInput in, which I also haven't learned yet =D

7. More maps