Firewall?

skylabops

Hello all. I'm new to playing online, but old at playing the game.

I need to know if there's any ports I might need to open on my NAT here for my firewall? I can connect online, however, when I try and join a game, it waits the 60 second countdown, then I get a connot connect error.

Happens everytime!

Ok!

I hope to get to play some soon and happy to be part of the community.

- mayby anyone can move it to tech-support ? Thanks :)

first, do you need any help with any possible NAT settings or firewall settings ?

NAT settings are managed by your router and although partially working as a passive firewall, the have in fact nothing to do with any function related to a real [software or hardware] firewall. Using NAT settings should not be needed when playing Dune2000 online as far as I remember. Unless you have a D-Link router.

Firewall settings are as far as I can rember not that hard. Adjust the settings of yout firewall to manual configurationo of firewall rules so it will ask you every time an request is made to a LAN or WAN adres if you lik eto allow it or not. Start up Dune 2000, go to LAN or internet game and it will prompt you to allow the EXE file acces to the net, after you proceed a learning rule in the firewall will ask you what ports [ usually the ones the programm itself asks for ] whould have acces. Grand acces to the rules Dune2000.exe [ or whatever it is called ] is requesting acces and you should be able to play online. With just one downside. You can not be pinged in the rooms, so every connection would seen verry slow. I myself always have pings of 999 with Yuri's revenge. Some even bann me before letting me enter a game. So you might want to say fw, standing for firewall when some one asks for it so they know your ping is false.